He’s Not Heavy

IMG_0623

Picture by Christopher Shennan

He’s Not Heavy

Bear one another’s burdens, and thereby fulfill the law of Christ. (Galatians 6:2 – NASB)

What is “the law of Christ”?

It is found in the Gospel of John:

“This is My commandment, that you love one another, just as I have loved you. (John 15:12 – NASB)

How does one keep this commandment?

By bearing one another’s burdens.

The picture above was taken 33 years ago and made it into a poster with the caption “He’s not heavy, he’s my brother.” The girl and boy in the picture (all grown-up now) were having a wonderful time. The little girl does not appear to mind pushing the boy around. It was not a burden to her, but a delight.

This is how Jesus wants us to love one another – by taking responsibility to lighten the load a brother or sister in Christ. And while we lift the burden, the amazing thing is the burden does not feel like a burden. Love lightens the load.

It is a kind of a paradox.

I have found it true in my own experience that, after I have spent some time encouraging someone going through some trial, I have come away feeling lighter. My own burdens have seemed much easier to deal with than before.

I believe Jesus helps share our load when we are willing to share another’s load.

Someone said to me, “Won’t you suffer burn-out if you keep on carrying everyone else’s burdens”

My answer? “Not in the least. I simply do what we are told to do in Peter’s first letter:

…casting all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you. (1 Peter 5:7 – NASB)

You can cast your own burdens upon Jesus, as well as any number of others you may pick up during the day. Jesus can carry them all.

My Brother’s Burden

(© Friday 28th November – by Christopher Shennan)

Bear one another’s burdens, and thereby fulfill the law of Christ. (Galatians 6:2 – NASB)

There was no way I could carry

The load that weighed my brother down,

Or even to make it lighter;

I carried enough of my own.

But my Lord said, “Lift his burden,

Just take it by faith and obey;

You’ll find your own grow lighter,

And you’ll walk with joy on your way.”

I lifted my brother’s burden,

As my Lord had told me to do;

I found that His yoke was easy –

And the words He had said were true.

Check out my books for sale at: My website: http://www.christophershennan.ca
Twitter: https://twitter.com/CNShennan
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ChristopherShennanAuthor

Leave a comment