The Size of a Forgiving Heart

heart_by_nevit-d4dh5qk (1)

Heart by nevit. Used under the Attribution 3.0 Unported license. Please note the disclaimer at this last link. No changes were made to the image.

The Size of a Forgiving Heart

Then Peter came and said to Him, “Lord, how often shall my brother sin against me and I forgive him? Up to seven times?” 22 Jesus said to him, “I do not say to you, up to seven times, but up to seventy times seven. (Matthew 18:21-22 – NASB)

Lest we get the idea forgiving others is a small operation, launched for the sake of avoiding conflict, Jesus throws us a curve-ball. He tells us in effect to think BIG when it comes to forgiveness. Not seven, but seventy times that number.

And I don’t think Jesus meant us to stop forgiving when we have forgiven someone 490 times. I think what he was talking about was developing a disposition from which forgiveness simply flows.

As I’ve mentioned before, this does not imply we should approve their actions, or that we should not hold them accountable. It does mean that all resentment has been expunged from our hearts, and that we have learned the meaning of mercy rather than sacrifice in dealing with others.

Peter thought seven times was quite enough to forgive someone’s trespass against him.

“No, no, Peter! Not seven times. Get real. Think big. Start with seventy times seven.”

How Many Times?

(© Friday 19th December 2014 – by Christopher Shennan)

Then Peter came and said to Him, “Lord, how often shall my brother sin against me and I forgive him? Up to seven times?” 22 Jesus said to him, “I do not say to you, up to seven times, but up to seventy times seven. (Matthew 18:21-22 – NASB)

It was quite enough, was my thought,

To forgive my brother just once,

Or at the outside two or three.

To forgive more, I’d be a dunce.

But then I heard my Lord ask me,

“How much have I forgiven you?

How many times when you asked Me

Did I cancel your debt? A few?”

“I have no idea,” I replied,”

“Just how many times that is;

A thousand times or more, I think.

If I tried to decide – I’d miss.”

“So, how many times, do you think

You should forgive your brother’s sin?

Would a thousand times be enough?

Or would you just then begin?

I felt quite ashamed after that,

That my forgiving was so mean;

I needed my heart to expand –

To allow more forgiveness in.

Now my heart is growing in size,

As I think of how often He,

My Lord and Master, has been kind,

And has freely forgiven me.

Check out my books at My website: http://www.christophershennan.ca
Twitter: https://twitter.com/CNShennan
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ChristopherShennanAuthor

Leave a comment