Sowing and Reaping

Tree_planting_001

Sowing and Reaping

Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap. (Galatians 6:7 – AKJV)

This verse is no doubt a warning not to sow evil actions into our lives, for the consequences will be dire. There is, however, a positive message wrapped up in it we would do well to apply to our lives.

The positive message is wrapped up in the word whatsoever.  Can’t the word whatsoever include good things we can sow as well as bad things?

Of course it can; indeed, I believe that is its meaning. The only reason it comes off as a negative statement is because the apostle was using it as a rebuke to those who were withholding their support to those who were teaching them God’s truth. He wanted them to know they would not profit by withholding that support. So it is a firm fact: whatsoever we sow, good things or bad, will reap its reward.

It may seem too obvious to mention, but we can’t do a thing about what we have already sown; we can however, do something about what we sow from this point on. Lamenting about our crop failures of the past is not only useless, but actually discourages us from planting good things in the future.

The apostle Paul declared:  Not that I have already obtained [it] or have already become perfect, but I press on so that I may lay hold of that [b]for which also I was laid hold of by Christ Jesus. Brethren, I do not regard myself as having laid hold of [it] yet; but one thing [I do]: forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what [lies] ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 3:12-14 – NASB)

Listening to a message on sowing and reaping, I determined in my heart what I was going to plant in the hope of reaping a crop of blessing in the future. You may have different seeds you want to plant, than I have chosen, but I think no one could do better the choices I have made:

  • I have Chosen to plant seeds of PRAYER

Recently I conducted an experiment. After coming out of the preservice prayer meeting, I decided to continue praying through the entire service. I wanted to know if it was possible to be fully engaged in the church service, and at the same time be fully engaged in prayer.

I tried to pray for the pastor, for his anointing, for his inspiration, and for the power of the Holy Spirit to rest upon him. I also prayed for the congregation, that God would open their hearts and minds to the truth.

That first experimental foray into this kind of prayer was quite successful. I found the Holy Spirit’s enabling to stay focussed on both the message and the miracle of prayer. I have since found I sometimes get distracted, and have to pull myself into that double focus. I am now engaged in sharing my vision with others, and increasing the numbers of those doing the same thing.

I consider this a kind of planting. I do not know what kind of crop I will reap from this engagement, but I am planting anyway, assured of the truth of what the Scripture declares: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap.

  • I have chosen to plant seeds of PROPAGATION

Evangelism is not a new endeavour of mine, and by God’s Grace I have seen fruit for my labour. I have decided, however to make a renewed effort. By writing books, by teaching others to engage in personal evangelism, and by grasping every opportunity to explain the Gospel. Forgetting both the successes and failures of the past, I am determined to plant seeds of evangelism wherever I can, assured always of the promise: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap.

  • I have chosen to plant seeds of PASSION

It is said of Amaziah that: And he did that which was right in the sight of the Lord, but not with a perfect heart.

I have determined that such half-hearted devotion shall never be the manner in which I serve my Lord. I have made up my mind to plant seeds of wholehearted devotion as never before. The declaration in the book of Jeremiah shall be my beacon, my encouragement, and my inspiration:

And ye shall seek me, and find [me], when ye shall search for me with all your heart. (Jeremiah 29:13 – NASB)

No longer will I focus on the negative impact of Galatians 6:7 alone. I will see in the whatsoever clause in that verse the opportunity and inspiration to plat seeds of prayer, propagation and passion in an effort to glorify my Lord. And in due season I shall reap.

I may not always be successful, but by the help of my God I refuse to dwell in the murky world of non-commitment. I am going to plant, plant, and plant; and leave the ultimate results to the Lord of the harvest.

Please visit .My website: www.christophershennan.ca
My blog: https://christophershennan.wordpress.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/CNShennan
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ChristopherShennanAuthor

Tree Planting by Alex Indigo. Copyright. Used under the CC BY-2.0 license; please note the Disclaimer at the license link. We have made no changes to the photo.

 

Leave a comment